Gumbo…. finally

For anyone who is a friend on facebook, I promised a Gumbo recipe weeks ago.  I have no excuse for my laziness.  At least no excuse I care to write about, or that you would even care to read.  Trust me.

I’ve never made gumbo before.  I’ve eaten it too many times to count though.  My first restaurant employment was at Pearl’s Oyster Bar (southside).  So you can believe that I’ve eaten my lion share of cajun dishes.  I think the thing I loved about the gumbo at Pearl’s was the dark roux that helped blend all the other flavors together.  The recipe I’m about to share is a much,much lighter roux… more like a creamy broth?  Although I prefer the Pearl’s version, this one really was fantastic, especially for how easy it is!

What you’ll need:

  • 1 pound Andouille Sausage (unless that’s too spicy for you… then I suggest an Italian Sausage in it’s casing.)
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cubed (season with salt, pepper, garlic powder)
  • 3 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 medium sweet red pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped (I prefer the white onion in this gumbo, bolder flavor)
  • 3 celery ribs, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon dried marjoram
  • 1 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (I use a full teaspoon… but I like the heat it gives.)
  • 1 teaspoon Old Bay Seasoning  (You could substitute any of these spices for something else.  I think Tony’s Creole would be awesome!)
  • 3 (14.5 ounce) cans chicken broth
  • 2/3 cup uncooked brown rice
  • 1 (14.5 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 pound uncooked medium shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • 2 cups frozen sliced okra (It’s hard to find pre-sliced frozen okra that isn’t battered.  So I bought the frozen whole okra, let them thaw slightly and chopped it myself.)

Directions

  1. In a Dutch oven, brown sausage and chicken in oil. Remove with a slotted spoon and keep warm. 
  2. In the drippings, saute red pepper, onion and celery until tender. 
  3. While these are cooking slice the sausage into bite size slices.  Stir in the seasonings; cook for 5 minutes. 
  4. Stir in the broth, rice and sausage mixture; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 20-25 minutes or until rice is tender.
  5. Stir in tomatoes, shrimp and okra; cook for 10 minutes or until shrimp turn pink, stirring occasionally.
  6. SIDE NOTE!!!!!!   I didn’t like cooking the rice in the gumbo.  I would recommend cooking it in a different pot and adding it as you serve it.  ALSO…. make garlic bread to go with it.  YUM-YUM!

Looks like you could reach out and take that shrimp!  Go ahead… make some!

Leave a Reply

