Creativity Comes From Freedom…

So the title of this blog was stolen from a scrapbook sticker.  I would know because I’ve been sifting through the biggest collection of scrapbook supplies known to the free world.  That’s right.  My good friend, Melanie W., has more paper, stickers, embellishments, buttons, ribbons, letters, stamps…. okay, i could go on and on.. but I won’t.  You get the point.  When I say she puts Hobby Lobby to shame, trust me.  She may need an intervention.  Ha!  But honestly, I learned more about letting go of my analytical viewpoints in the last few days then I ever thought possible.

I’ve also been very busy sewing together these very cute (yet naughty) pot-holders.  Let me give a little history.  My grandma passed away almost two years ago.  When we were going through her personal items, there were only a few things I wanted to keep.  There was a very old copy of “David Copperfield”, foreign money (both paper and coins) from all over the world (I assume her brothers and my Grand-dad brought them to her), a turquoise cross necklace, and last but certainly not least… the pot-holders. You see, it’s a pair of shorts.  One belonging to a male, and one to a female.  The female has an apron on, and the male is a pair of boxer shorts.  If one lifted the apron, a naughty little colored cotton ball would be found.. aka muff (as Grandma would put it… if she were speaking in a church)  Let me interrupt myself here and let you know that I learned my first cuss words from my Grandma.  If you were crying, “Titty-baby”.  If you were acting stupid, “Dumb-ass”  or “Delbert” (don’t ask).  She was very colorful in that aspect, and of course many others.  Oh, I miss that woman. Anyway, back to the pot-holders.. now then, if one was to look inside the opening of the boxer shorts, they may find an anatomically correct fallic hidden within.  Now, I wish I could tell you the origin of this great find, but alas… I can not.  I don’t know who made the original set.  All I can tell you is I’ve been recreating it for a while now.  I never would have thought to do this until my friends Jonathan and Sara came to visit.  As soon as I showed Sara this remarkable find, she insisted I make some.  And there you have it.  Check them out:

Heather was second to last to grab a gift at our Dirty Santa Party.  I was last.  So insisted she take my gift.  And when she did, I got the response I was looking for.  Just look at her and Camille’s faces…

Pretty neat, right?  I’ll be selling them soon on Etsy.  I’ll let you know.

Another thing that has been consuming my time is baking.  I didn’t mean to get into it, but it happened.  And I love it.  I’ve gotten to spend a lot of time with my girl Tonie, and also with my other longtime friend Lisa.  Just last week we made a six layered, three tiered anniversary cake for Tonie’s grandparents.  SIXTY YEARS TOGETHER.

I mean, really?  I will be 90 when Matthew and I hit our 30th!  Oh wait… no, I’ll be 92.  He’ll be 90.  Hell, sometimes I forget I’m the older one.  Hehehehe…  Sixty years.  That’s incredible.  And let me just say they are the coolest senior citizens I’ve met in a long time.  For instance, while at the Anniversary Party, her grandmother took me by the arm and just chatted away.  I loved it!  We were supposed to be going over to take pictures of her and the love of her life, but he was side tracked so she made the most of our time.  But, I finally captured them.

That’s what it’s all about…  Making the most of your time.  Can you look at the past week of your life and say to yourself (honestly) that you made the most of your time?  I think we should all ponder that for a moment.

Anyway… my point was… (geez, I don’t blog for a while and look at the rambling you’re exposed to!) we made a big cake and close to 200 cupcakes.

Don’t get me wrong, there was plenty of wine involved.  And for that, my friends’ husbands may not let them hang out with me anytime soon.  Oops!  But come on, you get three old (and by old, I mean we’ve known each other for many years) friends together, baking… and baking means there will be down time… you’re gonna have some tipsy lassies.  That’s all there is to it.  Heh heh…

We made:

Carrot cake cupcakes with a cream cheese frosting.

Chocolate cupcakes with a chocolate buttercream frosting.

Australian Red cupcakes with a special recipe for the frosting.

Strawberry cupcakes with a strawberry buttercream frosting.

The night after the party, Matthew and I taste-tested all four to decide which was our favorite.  The problem was that each cupcake was so different from the last, that it was like comparing apples to oranges…

Back to the list of creativity I’ve been up to….

I made chocolate dipped spoons and accompanied them with hot cocoa packets for Isaac’s classroom party.  Actually, Isaac made the spoons while I was in spicy pickle hell.  But still…. I bagged them.  That counts for something, right?

I’ve also made wine glass charms for my “Bitches Brunch” Christmas Party.

A beautiful quilt.

Cake balls (that just sounds dirty… it’s really not though.  See…)

Needless to say…. I’m tired.  Think it’s time for a long winters nap…

((lights fading))

((curtain drops))

((applause and roses thrown))

he heheheh heheh hehehe

Leave a Reply

