The Best Marinade in the World

I wish I could take credit for this next recipe.  Really I wish I could take credit for most recipes I prepare, but that’s neither here nor there.  So let me introduce you to

The Best Marinade in the World….

In a blender combine:

8 cloves of garlic

1/4 white onion

2 tsp salt

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp curry powder

1 tsp garam masala powder

1/2 tsp tumeric

juice and zest of one lime

1/2 cup olive oil

Pour into a Ziploc Baggie and add chunks of chicken.  Marinate over night.  Thread the chicken on skewers, then fire up the grill!

I got this recipe from Nathan and Misti. Nathan made this for Misti’s birthday back in August, and it was talked about by Matthew and I on many occasions.   I called Nathan Saturday night and asked many a question regarding that dinner.  I think I did justice in making it for my father-in-law’s birthday last night.

Along with the amazing grilled chicken, I made Tzatziki Sauce.  It is a labor intensive sauce, but well worth the time and effort.  You might know it as the yogurt sauce that comes on Gyro’s and other Greek food.

Then I pickled some turnips.  It’s a nice addition to any pita sandwich.  Here’s how:

Pickled Turnips:

3/4 cup red wine vinegar

1/4 cup water

2 cloves of garlic – minced

one beet. (you can use fresh beets, but I went with one from a can)

Julienne your turnips and put in a jar of this mixture.  Let it set over night.  You’ll love the crunchy goodness!

We also grilled some veggies on skewers.

It was a great evening!

Amber took all these pictures for your viewing delight.  I was too busy keeping up with my wine glass.  Thanks Amber!
And… Happy Birthday, Tommy!

3 responses to “The Best Marinade in the World

  1. yum and yum!! Ok, we need to have a scout mom get together, with lots of food!!

  2. You did a great job! You are right about that chicken marinade. It’s the bomb!!

  3. I do love food…

Leave a Reply

