What Super Bowl Means to Me

Food.

Plain and simple.  It means appetizers and drinks.  Easy as that.  I may not be able to tell you who played last night (okay… I know the Saints played thanks to Ellen), and I may not know the final score, but I do know what I served to my sweetheart, father-in-law, friends, and kids.  I kept it simple this year, and I tried to keep it somewhat healthy.  Here’s the list:

Those are “Lil’ Piggies”. I used turkey cocktail sausages and low-fat crescent rolls.

All you do is unroll the dough.  There are four main sections of dough in each container.  Use a knife and cut an asterisk in each section.  Then you simply roll a sausage into each tiny triangle until you use all the dough.  Then you follow the directions on the Crescent Roll wrapper.

The Mustard Sauce was made by Matthew

Plain yellow mustard

hot Chow-Chow (to taste)

That is “Humus”.  Oh…. I love humus.  I must admit that I didn’t make this batch, but I do make a mean

Roasted Red Bell Pepper Humus

In a Food Processor combine:

Two cloves of garlic

1/4 of a small red onion

1/2 a jalapeño (de-seeded, unless you like it spicy)

2 cans of drained chick peas

1 chipotle pepper in adobo sauce

a little bit of cilantro (to taste)

A can or jar of drained roasted red bell peppers

salt and pepper.

Blend for a while and drizzle up to 1/4 cup of e.v.o.o. to smooth it out.  Serve with pita chips or veggies.

Guacamole:

4 ripe avocados

1 can (drained) chunky Ro-Tel

lime or lemon juice

garlic salt and pepper

1/2 cup feta cheese

Shrimp Cocktail:

Okay… so all I did was open a bag of frozen shrimp from Sams and thaw them out.  But they were oh so gooooooood….

I also bought a veggie tray from Sams.  As you can see, Maxwell helped himself to some of the ranch dressing, and proceeded to share with Isaac.  So sweet, right?

Leave a Reply

