Poor Mans Stew

When I woke up this morning, it was colder than usual.  Yeah, yeah.. it’s January, it’s cold.. I get it.  BUT, today was really cold.  I got Isaac up and told him if he promised to eat eggs, bacon, and biscuits he could play hooky.  He loves hooky.  So he ate like a champ.  I made baked eggs.  Misti introduced me to these lovely eggs.

Anyway, like I’ve said before.. I’m always thinking ahead to the next meal.  With that, I immediately thawed some ground beef and took inventory of the veggies I have stashed away.  That’s the beauty of my Poor Mans Stew.. you can throw in whatever you have!  It’s a perfect dish for this sort of day.  Here’s how I do it:

Start with a pound of ground beef and brown it until it’s almost completely cooked.

While that’s cooking..

Chop

1/2 a yellow onion

2 stalks of celery

1 bell pepper (your choice of color.  I had some frozen from my garden and used red and yellow)

4-6 redskin potatoes (or whatever potato in your fridge that looks like it won’t last much longer  heh..heh..)

Drain the grease off the meat, and add these veggies.

Aren’t those pretty!  Hey!  Look… you can see me in the reflection of the pan.  Great camera!

Let these bad boys cook for a while, at least until the onions start to get tender.  Then you’ll add:

2 cans of diced tomatoes

1 can tomato sauce

2 cans of water (or beef stock if you have it.  I didn’t.)

1 pound of frozen veggies.  (I had a mix of peas, carrots, lima beans, green beans, and corn)

You may need more or less water, it just depends on how thick you like the broth.

Salt and pepper to taste.  I also used garlic powder and chile powder.  Use whatever spices you like.

Hungry yet?  Now, let it come to a slow steady boil, then cover the pot with a lid and simmer for about an hour.  Enjoy!  I know I did!

One thing you should never leave out is dessert.  I had a cupcake! (heh heh…)

Leave a Reply

