Mini Pizzas with Zucchini Crust

If I were to tell Isaac that we were having zucchini for dinner, he would laugh in my face!  However, if I said we were having “Mini Green Pizza’s”, he would be all in!  That’s how I have to cook, in order to get vegetables into his diet.  I got the idea off some talk show I was passively watching one day.  I wish I could remember which one so I could give the proper recognition, but alas… I am forgetful. Here’s what you do:

Get a really nice sized green zucchini squash.  Bust out your cheese grater, and get busy!

Now, turn the burner on your griddle and get it piping hot!

Then add to your shredded zucchini:

1 beaten egg

approximately 1/3 cup flour

1/3 cup  grated Parmesan cheese

salt and pepper

Scoop 1/4 cup of the mixture onto the griddle and flatten it as much as possible. You really want to make sure they get nice and brown on both sides.  I push on them with the backside of my spatula and listen to the sizzle.  It’s kind of like you’re making zucchini pancakes.  While you are doing this step, preheat your oven to 350 degrees.

Place the green pancakes on a baking sheet.  Top with marinara sauce, shredded cheese (whichever kind you prefer), and any topping you desire.  I chose turkey pepperoni (70% less fat than regular pepperoni and just as yummy!), sliced grape-tomatoes, and mushrooms.  Cook in the oven about 15 minutes.  Enjoy!

You really must make these, even if you don’t have picky eaters.  They’re that good!

One response to “Mini Pizzas with Zucchini Crust

  1. Well those look simply wonderful!! I’m gonna try ’em!!!!

Leave a Reply

