Farming Trees

I haven’t blogged in a while, but it’s with good reason.  My hard drive crashed.  Yes, that’s right… I lost everything.  Pictures, videos, music… gone.  Luckily, I was able to make an appointment at The Apple Store and get a new “brain” in a matter of hours.  My girl, Misti, was with me during the whole operation.  One thing we were really impressed with our experience (she had an appointment too) was the Genius Bar.  That’s were the employee’s (a.k.a. geniuses) work.  We want to work at a Genius Bar.  Anyway… enough about that.  My heartache is healing over the loss.  I will be signing up for Mobile Me quite soon, and will never stress about this again.

So Thanksgiving went well.  I didn’t take any photo’s during that brief holiday.  I’m not sure why.. but whatever.

On to what I really want to discuss… Christmas Tree’s.

Last year we threw away our artificial tree at the end of the season with the thought that we’d buy a new one this year.  In case you didn’t know, those things are more than a pretty penny.  AND they’re not that pretty either.  What gives?  So I was discussing tree’s with my neighbor, Vickie, and she told me about a Tree Farm in Choctaw that gives you a saw and a wagon, and you walk around their farm looking for the perfect tree.  Matthew, Maxwell, and I went there today.  The people who own the farm were so unbelievably kind!  They had hot apple cider and candy canes for their guests.  Once you cut your tree and brought it to them, they bagged it and loaded it on your vehicle.  It was a great experience.  Check out some of our pictures:

I carried the saw so that Maxwell could ride in the wagon.  He loves riding in wagons.

This is the one.  It’s not a Pine Tree, it’s a Cypress.  The beauty about this kind of tree, is it doesn’t have the long thin needles that Pine’s have.  I think there will be less clean up with it.

Side note:  I’m holding the saw all wrong.  If you notice, the handle is at the top.  I didn’t ever realize there was a handle until I tried cutting the tree down.  I sawed and sawed… finally Matthew took the saw, TURNED IT AROUND, and had the tree down in about five slices.  (show off)

It was a lot of fun.  I think we may make it a new family tradition.  Forget those crappy fake trees!  The only thing missing today was Isaac.  😦  He was with his Dad.  Had I known how awesome this experience was going to be, we would have totally waited on him.

If you’re looking for a real tree, you should check this place out.  The address is:

15600 Kent Dr. Choctaw, OK

Mapquest it, or plug it into your GPS.  You’ll be glad you did.

Leave a Reply

