What’s cookin’ — Tempura Veggies

It seems like these days everyone is worried about cholesterol intake, calories, fiber, etc.  Don’t get me wrong, I try to stay very balanced with my diet as well.  My body is a temple!  Right?  Well… in order to stay balanced, every ‘country’ girl must add a little bit of fried food to her diet!  Generally when I bust out the frying pan, it’s because my sweetheart insists on it.  I do love fried homegrown vegetables!  With that being said, I will enlighten you on my tempura batter recipe which I fry okra, squash, zucchini, and sometimes even green tomatoes.

Preparations First for the wet batter:

Depending on how many veggies you are cooking, you can vary the amounts.

2 large eggs (beat the hell out of them!)

1/4 cup buttermilk (substitute regular milk or even water)

Mix well

Second, the dry batter:

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour

3 Tblsp of Tony’s Seasoning

Fresh cracked black pepper

Garlic Powder

Okay… so all you do is soak your veggies real well in the wet batter and then coat them even better in the dry batter.  Make sure your grease is piping hot!  And fry away.  There’s really no method to the madness.  It’s all about the Tony’s Seasoning.  I came to appreciate Tony’s when I worked at Pearl’s Oyster Bar (many moons ago…).  What I didn’t appreciate about it was filling the condiment shaker’s as a side duty.  Talk about sneeze attack!

Here we go! Don’t you just love the wine sitting next to the Tony’s?!  I love wine!  Always look for a glass in my future postings on food.  It’ll be like “Where’s Waldo”, but instead… “Where’s Wine”?  Fry, Baby Fry!

My father-in-law, Matthew, Maxwell, and I had dinner together the night I cooked this.  We had some left-over ham steaks, fried veggies, macaroni and cheese (the cheesiest), cottage cheese, and tiny grape-tomatoes.  Very country!The result

Here’s a shot of Maxwell eating steamed veggies and macaroni.  He’s such a sweetie!

Sweet Maxwell and bowl full of cherries!

Leave a Reply

