Take Time To Smell The Roses

 

What a long day, and what a short summer!  It feels like only a few weeks ago when Keely and I went to Isaac’s last day of school for his class awards assembly.  And here we are… starting fourth grade tomorrow.  When I was a child, I can remember the adults in my life always rambling off the old cliches, “the older you get, the faster time flies” or “don’t grow up too fast”.  I think I have an old soul, because I would listen to these people and take their words to heart.  I can remember sitting very still in my room, I would close my eyes and think to myself slow down!  It was as if I could slow my heart rate and breathing pattern.  I think my natural meditation probably aided me in appreciating what I have when I have it.  Maybe so, or maybe not… maybe this is just how I remember it.  Maybe I was more of a ‘handful’ than what I think.  Regardless, I wish on every star and every time I see 11:11 on a clock, and on every other superstition which allows wishes that Isaac will slow down and appreciate what he has.Isaac

 

Maxwell, on the other hand, is so laid back.  Of course like any baby, he has his moments, but for the most part he is cool as a cucumber!  (talk about old timey cliche’s!)  I can pretty much take him anywhere with me, and he just kicks his feet up and gnaws on his plastic green turtle.  Maybe one day I’ll catch him meditating, or possibly he’ll want to try yoga with dear ole mom!  That’s all Matthew needs is another ‘hippy‘ in the family!Maxwell

 

 

Most importantly, I wish they wouldn’t wish their lives away.  Slow down… take time to smell the roses (there’s another one..).  They’re fantastic people, my children.

Leave a Reply

